SCC Library News

The Freedom to Read

 The American Library Association recorded 348 recorded 348 challenges to books in 2010.  A challenge is an attempt to remove or restrict materials due to the objections from that arise. Celebrate your freedom to read and guard against attempts to restrict that right.

 As cited by ALA, the top ten books challenged in 2011 were:

 1. ttyl; ttfn, 18gr, g8r by Lauren Myracle

2. The Color of Earth by Kim Dong Hwa

3. The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

4. My Moms Having a Baby! A kid’s Month –by-Month Guide to Pregnancy by Dori Hillestad Butler

5. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

6. Alice by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

7. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

8. What My Mother Doesn’t Know by Sonya Sones

9. Gossip Girl by Cecily Von Ziegesar

10. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

New Library Employee

Hello everyone, my name is Eric Martin and in addition to joining the ranks of Staff/Faculty at S.C.C. I am also currently a student. If all goes well I should be getting my Associates in 2013. When not at work or in school, I watch my baby boy, Samuel, who turns 1 in October!

I was born and raised the Davenport Quad Cities.                 

I am currently in the United States Navy Reserves as a Gunner’s Mate Second Class, and should be up for retirement very shortly, so I’m excited about that! I have done two tours in Kuwait.

Activities

Celebrating Creations

 We are celebrating creative minds with a display of faculty and staff creative art works during the week of November 26th through the 30th. At the end of the week, the SCC Library will host a reception in honor of those who displayed their work.

Coffee for Students

The library will be serving coffee for students during finals week December 11, 12, 13, 14, & 17th

Leave a Reply

